Very simply, organic wines are produced with organically grown grapes. To have organically grown grapes, a vineyard manager must implement an entirely different set of practices to maintain their vines.
By the way, organic doesn’t imply that the wine doesn’t have additives. There is, in fact, a list of additives, including things like yeast, egg whites, and animal enzymes (like rennet in cheese) that are allowed in organic wines. Being organic doesn’t necessarily mean the wine is vegan.
Fortunately, there is a solution that drinkers of American wines should know about, and it’s called "Made with Organically Grown Grapes". These little words on a bottle are your ticket to drinking more green for two reasons:
- Wines are made with grapes from Certified Organic vineyards
- Wines must contain less than 100 ppm sulfites (good!)